Skip to main content

Civil Liberties Restoration Act of 2004

By March 28, 2006No Comments

On June 16, 2004, the Civil Liberties Restoration Act (CLRA) was introduced by Senators Jon Corzine (D-NJ), Richard Durbin (D-IL), Russ Feingold (D-WI), Edward Kennedy (D-MA), and Patrick Leahy (D-VT), and Congressman Howard Berman (D-CA) and William Delahunt (D-MA). NAKASEC joined other local, state, and national organizations to support this legislation, which meets new security demands post-911, while preserving fundamental liberties and American values of fairness and equal treatment for all. Echoing a press conference in Washington D.C., many organizations held local press conferences to highlight the importance of this bill. NAKASEC and affiliates have also translated the summary of CLRA into Korean to educate the members of the Korean American community.

Leave a Reply